Start Date
25 February 2020
End Date
28 February 2020
The Cleveland Clinic
David Citadel Hotel, Jerusalem, Israel
Meeting Summary

Dear colleagues

Every year between 1990 and 2019, the Department of Colorectal Surgery at Cleveland Clinic Florida hosted the world of colorectal surgery at our David G. Jagelman MD memorial international colorectal disease symposium in Fort Lauderdale.  This meeting jointly sponsored by the Department of Colorectal Surgery at the Cleveland Clinic in Ohio as the Rupert B. Turnbull MD symposium will again be held in Florida from February 11 to 13, 2021 in South Florida.  Since we have elected to adopt a biennial format of our meeting in Florida, our many esteemed Israeli alumni from the Department of Colorectal Surgery at Cleveland Clinic Florida have graciously worked with the Israeli Surgical Association and the Israel Society of Colon and Rectal Surgery to host and sponsor a Cleveland Clinic Florida Israeli alumni international colorectal disease meeting, as traditionally held, in February 2020.  I thank the program planning committee – Drs. Nir Wasserberg and our alumni, Drs. Alon Pikarsky and Oded Zmora for their time, energy, enthusiasm, and commitment to the success of this exciting event.

Firstly, I am exceptionally grateful to Hagit Tulchinsky, President of the Society of Colon and Rectal Surgery, as well as to the other officers of both the Israel Society of Colon and Rectal Surgery and the Israeli Surgical Association.  Moreover, I am delighted that our alumni have offered to host our meeting in Jerusalem, Israel from February 25 to 28, 2020.

As you can see by our faculty list, alumni and friends from around the world including Dr. Sergio Regadas, past president of the Brazilian Society of Coloproctology, Dr. Sthela Regadas, current president of the Brazilian Society of Coloproctology, and Dr. Lucia Oliveira also from Brazil, will be on our faculty.  In addition, esteemed luminaries and alumni from Europe including Professors Andre D’Hoore and Donato Altomare, as well as our good friends Abe Fingerhut, Antonio Lacy, Manish Chand, and Venkatesh Munikrishnan are amongst the illustrious faculty.  Our alumni Drs. Art Hiranyakas from Thailand, Constantinos Mavrantonis from Greece, Badma Bashankaev from Moscow, Giovanni Milito and Isacco Montroni from Italy, Nicolas Rotholtz and Juan Uriburu from Argentina are included in the faculty along with many of our internationally acclaimed alumni practicing in the united states including Jonathan Efron from Johns Hopkins University, Dana Hayden from Rush University in Chicago, Brooke Gurland from Stanford University, Lawrence Sands from the University of Miami, Dana Sands and Fabio Potenti from Cleveland Clinic Florida are amongst the faculty.  Other Cleveland Clinic Florida faculty include the world renowned colorectal pathology expert, conflict resolution and behavior coach, Mariana Berho, the past president of the American Society of Metabolic and Bariatric Surgeons, Raul Rosenthal, and the chair of anesthesia, Wagih Gobrial.

Our program will delve into all of the current controversial and newest “hottest” aspects of colorectal surgery including rectal cancer, inflammatory bowel disease, stem cells and regenerative medicine, the optimization of surgical outcomes through psychological and physical condition, as well as new technologies and techniques.

I was delighted to learn that the registration fee for this fantastic course is low, and the venue at which the Israeli surgeons are hosting the meeting is absolutely unique at the David Citadel Hotel immediately facing the old walls of the city of Jerusalem.  For those of you who have not visited Jerusalem, I urge you to join us in this absolutely magical location and for those of you have visited Jerusalem you certainly need no encouragement to return.  Accordingly, I look forward to interacting with the world of colorectal surgery from February 25-28 in Jerusalem courtesy of our friends and alumni in Israel.

Prof. Steven D. Wexner

Director, Digestive Disease Center Cleveland Clinic Florida.
Chair, Department of Colorectal Surgery.